A human adventure

At first, the Mater & Filii champagne is certainly a story of lineage and transmission, but it is also a beautiful human adventure.

I spent my childhood in the farm of La Charmoise, near BELVAL SOUS CHÂTILLON (not far from DORMANS) and was happy to discover it and to show my ten cousins the inhabitants, all the places to hide and thus all the beauty, during the weekends or school holidays. A few years later, my parents divorced. My mother left the farm and to face this new situation, became a new wine grower by taking over a parcel of her parents’ vineyards. After my high school diploma, I studied law in REIMS and NANCY, and obtained the DJCE (Business Law Counsellor Diploma). I had a career rich in discoveries and in meetings, in several banking institutions. But after more than 20 years spent operating in finance, I needed to work with concrete things. I missed this precious and regenerating contact with the earth and its fruits. I needed – as so many others did before me – to reconnect with my roots, to feel useful. As my mother was about to retire, I gradually took over the family wine-making business, under her demanding but always friendly eye. Why don’t you join me on the road ?

Jérôme Dhuicq

Our cellar masters - œnologists

Florence Machet

Coming from a family of wine growers, Florence obtained her high school diploma – as the two Jérôme – at the Léon Bourgeois high school, in EPERNAY. She began her oenological training in the House Moët and Chandon. She then continued to develop her expertise within the House REGNARD, where she was particularly able to discover other know-hows and other enthusiastic wine growers. Thanks to all these meetings and these sharings, Florence became a master in her art.

Jérôme Corbon

Coming from a family of wine growers settled in AVIZE (in Champagne), Jérôme is a local boy and a longtime friend, since both Jérôme have met each other a few years ago… in the Léon Bourgeois high school in EPERNAY. Thanks to all the meetings he made during his oenologist career in the House Veuve Cliquot, Jérôme reached the top of his art and became, in 2004, the head  of the wine-producing company of Troissy, an unanimously recognized structure in the region of Champagne for its know-how, its modernity and its demands.

Instants Mater & Filii

#MateretFilii

Une aventure humaine

Le Champagne Mater et Filii est certes d’abord une histoire de lignée, de transmission, mais c’est également une belle aventure humaine.

J’ai passé mon enfance dans la ferme de la Charmoise, à BELVAL SOUS CHATILLON (non loin de DORMANS) et étais heureux d’en découvrir et d’en faire découvrir tous les habitants, toutes les cachettes et donc toute la beauté, à ma dizaine de cousins et cousines, les week-ends ou pendant les vacances scolaires. Quelques années plus tard, mes parents se sont séparés. Ma mère a quitté la ferme pour reprendre l’exploitation d’une partie des vignes de ses parents et faire face à cette nouvelle situation. Après mon baccalauréat littéraire, j’ai suivi des études de droit à REIMS et NANCY, conclues par l’obtention du DJCE et j’ai connu un parcours professionnel riche de découvertes et de rencontres, dans plusieurs établissements bancaires. Mais après avoir brassé de l’intangible durant plus de 20 ans, j’avais besoin de retrouver la matière. Ce contact précieux et régénérant avec la terre et ses fruits me manquait, j’avais besoin – comme tant d’autres l’ont fait avant moi – de me reconnecter à mes racines, de me sentir utile. Ma mère approchant de la retraite, j’ai progressivement repris l’exploitation viticole familiale, sous son œil exigeant mais toujours bienveillant et je vous propose de continuer la route ensemble.

Jérôme Dhuicq

Nos chefs de cave - œnologues

Florence Machet

Issue d’une famille de vignerons, Florence a obtenu son baccalauréat – comme les Jérôme – au lycée Léon Bourgeois, à EPERNAY. C’est par la Maison Moët et Chandon, où elle a pu mettre en œuvre et affiner ses compétences œnologiques, que Florence a débuté sa formation sur le terrain. Elle a ensuite continué de développer son expertise au sein de la Maison REGNARD, grâce à laquelle elle a pu, notamment, découvrir d’autres savoir-faire, d’autres passionnés du travail du vin. C’est fort de toutes ces rencontres et nourrie de ces partages que Florence a affiné la maîtrise de son art.

Jérôme Corbon

Issu d’une famille de viticulteurs champenois installée à AVIZE, Jérôme est un enfant du pays et un ami de longue date puisque les deux Jérôme se sont connus, il y a quelques années…, au lycée Léon Bourgeois d’EPERNAY. Fort de toutes les rencontres qu’il a pu faire, lors de sa carrière d’œnologue pour la Maison Veuve Cliquot, Jérôme a affiné la maîtrise de son art et a ainsi pris, en 2004, la direction de la société vinicole de Troissy, structure unanimement reconnue en Champagne pour son savoir-faire, sa modernité et ses exigences.

Instants Mater & Filii

#MateretFilii