Introducing the House Mater & Filii

The Mater & Filli House is a family structure. We own the vineyards, located in TROISSY and DORMANS.

Located on the soils of TROISSY and DORMANS, in the Valley of the Marne, the vineyards Mater & Filii are divided into a dozen plots of land, mainly Meunier grape variety. The oldest vineyard is 48-year-old and the youngest is 9 years old.
A northern wine-making zone, the Valley of the Marne possesses nevertheless, thanks to the Marne and to the western oceanic influences, a climate said ” oceanic degraded ” and the precipitations are moderated (between 550 and 700 mm a year).
The subsoils of the Valley of the Marne – composed of a pile of sands, clays and resistant rocks, based on the geological formations of the Cretaceous – are covered with white chalk which insures a very good drainage of the grounds, maintains a sufficient humidity and also stores the heat of the sun during the day to restore it at night and allows a better maturation of the grapes.
Finally, the front of the cuesta of the Ile-de-France Coast, drilled by the Marne river, presents important diffferences in level (70 – 150 m) and strong slopes (until 40 °) giving a better sun exposure, an increase of the solar energy on the ground and allows cold air to go down the slopes.

Présentation de la Maison

La Maison Mater & Filli est une structure familiale, propriétaire des vignes qu’elle exploite.

Situées sur les terroirs de TROISSY et DORMANS, dans la Vallée de la Marne, les vignes Mater & Filii sont réparties sur une douzaine de parcelles, majoritairement plantées en cépage Meunier. La plus ancienne est âgée de 48 ans et la plus jeune a 9 ans.
Zone viticole septentrionale, la Vallée de la Marne possède pourtant, grâce à la Marne et aux influences océaniques de l’ouest, un climat dit « océanique dégradé » et les précipitations sont modérées (entre 550 et 700 mm par an).
Les sous-sols de la Vallée de la Marne – constitués d’un empilement de sables, d’argiles et de roche résistante, reposant sur les formations du Crétacé – sont recouverts de craies blanches qui assurent un très bon drainage aux sols, maintiennent une humidité suffisante et emmagasinent également la chaleur du soleil de la journée pour la restituer la nuit et permettre ainsi une meilleure maturation du raisin.
Enfin, le front de la cuesta de la Côte de l’Ile-de-France, percée par la Marne, présente des dénivellations importantes (70 à 150 m) et de fortes pentes (jusqu’à 40°) donnant une meilleure exposition au soleil, une augmentation de l’énergie solaire au sol et une descente des coulées d’air froid vers le bas des pentes.