Champagne and Seasons

- Wednesday November 23rd, 2016 -

accords-saison

Champagne is definitely a festive beverage that goes well with different moments in life, as well as with the seasons.

Spring, summer, autumn or winter … doesn’t matter when, there will always be a Mater & Filii vintage to satisfy you.

When spring and sunny days are finally back (or should be), it is time for some renewal and frivolity. Pre-dinners drinks on a terrace under an arbor are back, just like outside lunches and dinners. It is the perfect season for some light sharp and fresh champagne as the cuvée “Blanc de blancs”, the cuvée “Crescendo” or the cuvee “Tradition”.

In summer, the freshness of yellow, white and red fruits offers a broad range of saps and echoes the freshest, roundest and fleshiest Mater & Filii champagnes as the cuvée “Blanc de blancs” or the cuvée “Crescendo”. If the quality of the fruits and their features definitely matter, the method of preparation and their association with other sapid food are also determining.

The cuvée “Blanc de noirs” is composed of 100% of Pinot noir and has a wide, rich and structured texture. It reveals the powerful different aromas of the fruits, of spices, mocha, wood, leather, smoked and even roasted. It is thus the perfect champagne in autumn that you can enjoy with a meal taken in the course of a hunt, or during a lunch on a Sunday in the countryside with some cooked meat, some game and poultry, some mushrooms… The powerful and fleshy cuvée “Dégustation” with a predominance of Pinot noir goes well with delicious flesh and soft textures.

Winter evokes snow, log fires and the Christmas and New Year holidays. It is also the season of strongly, and sometimes salty flavored seafood that reminds us of seaweed, or rather finely, softly and sensually flavored ones. Generally speaking, Mater & Filii recommends you some elegant, mineral wines with the predominance of Chardonnay as the cuvée “Crescendo” or the cuvée “Blanc de blancs” to serve with a seafood platter or some fish. Or you could opt for some champagne that has character with a woody taste such as the cuvée “Fût de chêne”.

You can find more information this topic in the section “The combinations” of this website.

Thank you to Jean-Marc DUFRAISSE for his precious help in writing this article.

Last articles

Champ 7

Fingerprint book

Published on 6 November 2019

The new collective banner of the “Champagnes de Vignerons”

In order to better accompany champagnes lovers in their selection of cuvées, …

To know more about
Bouvreux2

The bouvreux?

Published on 18 September 2019

In some years, during the harvest, we can find many small second-generation grapes, called bouvreux.
These “grapillons” (small grapes) contrast their …

To know more about
Rosé canada

The hand-stitched champagne (G. REVEL)

Published on 3 September 2019

Praise of our cuvées by Guénaël, the reference in champagnes and sparkling wines overseas, (Monsieur bulles).
Thank you very much for …

To know more about

Le champagne au gré des saisons

- mercredi 23 novembre 2016 -

accords-saison

Le champagne est une boisson festive certes, mais il accompagne également très bien divers moments de la vie ainsi que diverses saisons.

Que ce soit le printemps, l’été, l’automne ou l’hiver, il y aura toujours une cuvée Mater & Filii pour combler vos instants.

Avec l’arrivée du printemps et des beaux jours (en principe), l’heure est au renouveau et à un peu plus de légèreté. Les apéritifs de fin de journée, sur la terrasse, sous la tonnelle, réapparaissent et les repas d’extérieur vont reprendre. C’est la saison des champagnes légers, vifs, frais comme la cuvée « blanc de blancs », la cuvée « crescendo » ou la cuvée « tradition ».

En été, la fraîcheur des fruits jaunes, blancs et rouges, déploie toute une palette de sucs et, en écho à ces douceurs, les champagnes Mater & Filii les plus frais, comme la cuvée « blanc de blancs » ou la cuvée « crescendo » sont parfaitement appropriés… Si la qualité du fruit et ses caractéristiques gustatives sont importantes, son mode de préparation et son association éventuelle avec d’autres éléments sapides sont également déterminants (voir les accords met et champagne Mater & Filii).

Composés à 100 % des cépages de pinot noir, la cuvée « blancs de noirs » présente une texture ample, riche et structurée et révèle des arômes puissants et contrastés de fruits, d’épices, de moka, de bois, de cuir, de fumé, voire de torréfié. C’est donc le compagnon parfait de l’automne qui pourra se déguster autour d’un repas de chasse ou d’un dimanche à la campagne avec de mets de caractère : charcuteries, gibiers et volailles, champignons… La cuvée « dégustation », puissante et charnue, à dominante de pinot noir, apprécie les goûts francs, les chairs savoureuses et les textures douces.

L’hiver enfin, évoque la neige, le feu dans la cheminée et les fêtes de fin d’année. C’est aussi la saison des fruits de mer et des crustacés aux saveurs corsées, parfois minérales, iodées rappelant les algues, ou des saveurs plutôt délicates, douces, fines, suaves et sensuelles. D’une façon générale, pour accompagner un plateau de fruits de mer, des poissons ou des crustacés, la Maison Mater & Filii vous conseille des vins élégants, minéraux, plutôt marqués par le chardonnay, comme la cuvée « crescendo » ou la cuvée « blanc de blancs ». Ou un champagne de caractère, au goût boisé, la cuvée « fût de chêne ».

 

Retrouvez tous les accords avec les Champagnes Mater & Filii sur la page « Les accords« .

Merci à Jean-marc DUFRAISSE, qui fût parmi les premiers à cheminer aux côtés de Mater & Filii et sans qui nous aurions eu un peu plus de difficultés à écrire ces suggestions d’accords.

Derniers articles

Copyright_MateretFilii-Sabrer-Sabler-Champagne

Le vin de Champagne

Publié le 28 mars 2019

Le nouveau film « Le vin de Champagne »
Depuis 1950, le Comité Champagne réalise, chaque décennie, un film pédagogique sur …

En savoir plus
Vins clairs

Assemblage de vins clairs, moment déterminant

Publié le 15 mars 2019

L’assemblage des vins clairs, moment déterminant de l’identité des champagnes Mater & Filii
La Maison Mater & Filii propose plusieurs cuvées …

En savoir plus
mater-et-filii-fabrication-rose

Comment produit on
le champagne rosé ?

Publié le 14 février 2019

Le champagne rosé peut résulter de deux méthodes autorisées en vinification champenoise…

En savoir plus