Seven cépages of the C.O.A. Champagne and …Seven cuvées Mater & Filii

- Thursday November 22nd, 2018 -

Mix

Seven cépages of the C.O.A. Champagne

The specifications of the P.O.A. “Champagne” authorize only the use of seven cépages in the soils of Champagne : the Pinot noir, the Pinot Meunier, the Chardonnay, the Arbanne, Small Meslier, the White Pinot and the Pinot gris.
And among these, three first ones (Pinot noir, Pinot Miller and Chardonnay) represent more than 99,5 % of the grape in Champagne.

Because it is the nature of soils, the qualities of balance sugar / acidity and their good capacity in secondth fermentation which guided the selection of these vines the best adapted to our region.

Jules Guyot, doctor and French physicist of the IXth century, especially known for his wine-making studies and author of a rich ” Study of the vineyards of France, to be of use to the mutual education of the French vine growing and the wine making ” so noticed already, in 1866, the importance, in the creation of the wine of champagne (volume II), the assembly of grapes stemming from various vines or from various plots of land.

It is the same Doctor Guyot who gave his name to famous techniques of size – recommending the long size of the vineyard to remedy, originally, the weakness of the yields in certain productions – today widely adopted in numerous vineyards.

 

Seven cuvées Mater & Filii

The pinot noir represents 38 % of the standing vineyard. Completed on the calcareous and fresh grounds, it is the dominant vine of the Mountain of Reims and the Coast of the Bar. Wines which arise from it distinguish themselves by aromas of red berries and marked structure. It is the vine which brings to the assembly of the body and the power, as in the cuvée Dégustation Mater & Filii or the cuvée Blanc de noirs Mater & Filii, with its asserted character. 

Pinot noir
The meunier represents 32 % of surfaces. Strong vine, are more particularly advisable in the more clayey soils, as those of our Valley of the Marne, and adapt better of more difficult weather conditions for the vineyard. It gives flexible and fruity wines which evolve a little more quickly in time and bring to the assembly of the curvature. It reminds you of course a large number of our champagnes, as the cuvée Tradition Mater & Filii, the cuvée Fût de chêne Mater & Filii, the cuvée Symphonie Mater & Filii or still the surprising cuvée Crescendo Mater & Filii.

mater-et-filii_vendanges-2016
The Chardonnay, finally, occupies 30 % of the vineyard. It is the dominant vine of the Coast of the whites. Wines of Chardonnay are characterized by delicate aromas, floral notes, citrus fruits, sometimes mineral. In slow evolution, it is the ideal vine for the ageing of wines, represented by the cuvée Blanc de blancs Mater & Filii.

Chardonnnay

Enjoy the tasting, …in moderation ;-).

Last articles

Champ 7

Fingerprint book

Published on 6 November 2019

The new collective banner of the “Champagnes de Vignerons”

In order to better accompany champagnes lovers in their selection of cuvées, …

To know more about
Bouvreux2

The bouvreux?

Published on 18 September 2019

In some years, during the harvest, we can find many small second-generation grapes, called bouvreux.
These “grapillons” (small grapes) contrast their …

To know more about
Rosé canada

The hand-stitched champagne (G. REVEL)

Published on 3 September 2019

Praise of our cuvées by Guénaël, the reference in champagnes and sparkling wines overseas, (Monsieur bulles).
Thank you very much for …

To know more about

Les sept cépages de l’A.O.C. Champagne et les …sept cuvées Mater & Filii

- jeudi 22 novembre 2018 -

Mix

Les sept cépages de l’A.O.C. Champagne

Le cahier des charges de l’Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée « Champagne » n’autorise l’utilisation que de sept cépages sur les terroirs de l’Appellation : le Pinot Noir, le Pinot Meunier, le Chardonnay, l’Arbanne, le Petit Meslier, le Pinot Blanc et le Pinot Gris.

Et parmi ceux-ci, les trois premiers (Pinot Noir, Pinot Meunier et Chardonnay) représentent plus de 99,5 % de l’encépagement en Champagne.

Car c’est la nature des terroirs, les qualités d’équilibre sucre/ acidité et leur bonne aptitude à la prise de mousse qui a guidé la sélection de ces cépages les mieux adaptés à notre région.

Jules Guyot, médecin et physicien français du IXème siècle, surtout connu pour ses études viticoles et auteur d’une riche « Étude des vignobles de France, pour servir à l’enseignement mutuel de la viticulture et de la vinification françaises » constatait ainsi déjà, en 1866, l’importance, dans la création du vin de champagne (tome II), de l’assemblage de raisins issus de différents cépages ou de différentes parcelles.

C’est ce même Docteur Guyot qui a donné son nom à de célèbres techniques de taille – préconisant la taille longue de la vigne pour remédier, à l’origine, à la faiblesse des rendements dans certaines productions – aujourd’hui largement adoptées dans de nombreux vignobles.

Les sept cuvées Mater & Filii

Le pinot noir représente 38 % du vignoble planté. Parfait sur les terrains calcaires et frais, c’est le cépage dominant de la Montagne de Reims et de la Côte des Bar. Les vins qui en sont issus se distinguent par des arômes de fruits rouges et une structure marquée. C’est le cépage qui apporte à l’assemblage du corps et de la puissance, comme dans la cuvée Dégustation Mater & Filii ou la cuvée Blanc de noirs Mater & Filii, au caractère affirmé.

Pinot noir

Le meunier représente 32 % des surfaces. Cépage vigoureux, il convient plus particulièrement aux terroirs plus argileux, comme ceux de notre Vallée de la Marne, et s’accommode mieux de conditions climatiques plus difficiles pour la vigne. Il donne des vins souples et fruités qui évoluent un peu plus rapidement dans le temps et apportent à l’assemblage de la rondeur. Cela vous rappelle bien sûr un grand nombre de nos champagnes, comme la cuvée Tradition Mater & Filii, la cuvée Fût de chêne Mater & Filii, la cuvée Symphonie Mater & Filii ou encore la surprenante cuvée Crescendo Mater & Filii.

mater-et-filii_vendanges-2016

Le chardonnay, enfin, occupe 30 % du vignoble. C’est le cépage dominant de la Côte des blancs. Les vins de chardonnay se caractérisent par des arômes délicats, des notes florales, d’agrumes, parfois minérales. A évolution lente, c’est le cépage idéal pour le vieillissement des vins, représenté par la cuvée Blanc de blancs Mater & Filii.

Chardonnnay

Bonne dégustation, …avec modération 😉 .

Derniers articles

materetfilii_dosage-egalisage

Qu’est-ce que le dosage
ou égalisage ?

Publié le 23 novembre 2018

Les quelques centilitres perdus lors du dégorgement sont remplacés par un mélange de vieux vin et de sucre, appelé liqueur …

En savoir plus
Mix

Les sept cépages de l’A.O.C. Champagne et les …sept cuvées Mater & Filii

Publié le 22 novembre 2018

Les sept cépages de l’A.O.C. Champagne
Le cahier des charges de l’Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée « Champagne » n’autorise l’utilisation que de …

En savoir plus
materetfilii_le-nom

Savez-vous d’où provient le nom “Mater & Filii” ?

Publié le 1 septembre 2018

Mater & Filii, c’est d’abord une histoire de lignée, de transmission, mais c’est également une belle aventure humaine.
J’ai passé mon …

En savoir plus