The vintage cutting, an important moment, a permanent learning…

- Friday January 20th, 2017 -

Mater & Filii

The culture of a so strong and so undisciplined plant as the vineyard is a challenge.

In the wild state, the vineyard is a liana which, as the ivy for example, crawls on the ground in search of a headland (a tree, a rock…) in which it’s going to hang on to reach its summit and the light as to be able to bloom and fruit.

To insure a satisfactory production of grapes – in quality and in quantity – this exuberant vineyard must be thus cut severely every year.

The “taille de formation” (or disbudding) is practised in autumn, immediately after the fall of leaves or at the end of the winter, just before “le débourrement*”. It allows to structure well the development of the plant. Shortest is the size, the more the foot will grow again strongly.

Made at a moment when the vineyard – reduced to its foot and to its simplest expression – seem easy-to-work, the size is in reality a major moment – otherwise the most important – of the annual work of the vineyard.

Because of the quality of its realization depends the production of the year, but also that of the next years. It is indeed important to adapt exactly the future load in buds to the vigour of every stock.

The size so stays one of these moments during which the human being (and only the human being : with the grape harvests, the size is one of last interventions not mechanized on the vineyard of Champagne) operates its know-how and has no right to make mistakes.

Besides, to face the diseases of the wood, the House Mater and Filii gave up the idea of a miracle treatment and reconsidered the cultural conditions which favor the development the aforementioned diseases.

It is thus important to identify and to transmit knowledges of size which respect an agro-ecological approach, that is, here, preventive in front of diseases of the wood.

This transmission of the knowledges crosses by the theoretical training, naturally, but also and especially by the accompaniment of the “anciens”(“olders”), those who enough cut the vineyard to know about what they speak.

Examples in pictures …

* Moment of the year when the vegetative and floral buds develop to let appear their filling (that is the down and the young leaves and the flowers buried in buds) then their leaves and flowers.

P1010410

P1010405

P1010385

P1010403

P1010401

Last articles

Champ 7

Fingerprint book

Published on 6 November 2019

The new collective banner of the “Champagnes de Vignerons”

In order to better accompany champagnes lovers in their selection of cuvées, …

To know more about
Bouvreux2

The bouvreux?

Published on 18 September 2019

In some years, during the harvest, we can find many small second-generation grapes, called bouvreux.
These “grapillons” (small grapes) contrast their …

To know more about
Rosé canada

The hand-stitched champagne (G. REVEL)

Published on 3 September 2019

Praise of our cuvées by Guénaël, the reference in champagnes and sparkling wines overseas, (Monsieur bulles).
Thank you very much for …

To know more about

La taille de la vigne, un moment important, un apprentissage permanent…

- vendredi 20 janvier 2017 -

Mater & Filii

La culture d’une plante aussi vigoureuse et aussi indisciplinée que la vigne est un challenge.

A l’état sauvage, la vigne est une liane qui, comme le lierre par exemple, rampe au sol à la recherche d’un promontoire (un arbre, un rocher, ….) auquel elle va s’accrocher pour atteindre son sommet et la lumière afin de pouvoir ainsi fleurir et fructifier.

Pour qu’elle assure une production satisfaisante de raisins – en qualité et en quantité – cette vigne exubérante doit donc être taillée sévèrement tous les ans.

La taille de formation (ou ébourgeonnement) se pratique en automne, sitôt après la chute des feuilles ou à la fin de l’hiver, juste avant le débourrement*. Elle permet de bien structurer le développement de la plante. Plus la taille est courte, plus le pied repoussera vigoureusement.

Effectuée à un moment où la vigne – réduite à son pied et à sa plus simple expression – semble facile à travailler, la taille est en réalité un moment majeur – sinon le plus important – du travail annuel de la vigne.

Car de la qualité de sa réalisation dépend la production de l’année, mais aussi celle des années suivantes. Il importe en effet d’adapter précisément la future charge en bourgeons à la vigueur de chaque cep.

La taille reste ainsi un moment au cours duquel l’humain (et lui seul : avec les vendanges, la taille est une des dernières interventions non mécanisée sur le vignoble champenois) met en œuvre son savoir-faire et n’a pas le droit à l’erreur.

En outre, pour faire face aux maladies du bois, la Maison Mater & Filii a abandonné l’idée d’un traitement miracle et a reconsidéré les conditions culturales qui favorisent le développement desdites maladies.

Il est donc important d’identifier et de transmettre des savoirs de taille qui respectent une démarche agro-écologique, c’est à dire, ici, préventive face aux maladies du bois.

Cette transmission des savoirs passe par la formation théorique, bien évidemment, mais également et surtout par l’accompagnement des « anciens », celles et ceux qui ont suffisamment taillé la vigne pour savoir de quoi elles et ils parlent.

Exemples en images …

* Moment de l’année où les bourgeons végétatifs et floraux se développent pour laisser apparaître leur bourre (c’est-à-dire le duvet et les jeunes feuilles et fleurs enfouies dans les bourgeons) puis leurs feuilles et fleurs.

P1010410

P1010405  P1010385

P1010403

P1010401

Derniers articles

Champ 7

Carnet d’empreintes

Publié le 6 novembre 2019

La nouvelle bannière collective des Champagnes de Vignerons
Afin de mieux accompagner les amateurs de champagnes dans leur sélection de cuvées, …

En savoir plus
Bouvreux2

Les bouvreux, la belle montre !

Publié le 18 septembre 2019

On peut trouver, certaines années, lors des vendanges, de nombreuses petites grappes de deuxième génération, appelées les bouvreux.
Ces grapillons (petites …

En savoir plus
Rosé canada

Le champagne cousu main (G. REVEL)

Publié le 3 septembre 2019

Commentaires élogieux de nos cuvées par Guénaël, le référent en champagnes et vins effervescents outre-Atlantique, (Monsieur bulles).
Merci beaucoup pour cette …

En savoir plus